The Truffle Bug

I am working on building a project using DappUniversity. I was following along with the tutorial and everything was going fine. I added dependencies, set up my Github repository, and started working on the token contract.

Next, it is time to check if the contract can be deployed. I ran truffle compile and the artifacts file was created. It looked like everything was going well. Then I ran truffle migrate and this is the error that had me stuck for a few days.

error_21.png

I attempted to configure the port number that from documentation stated worked, which was 7545. That did not work. I then added truffle core and repeated the previous steps, still did not work. I reached out to cryptodevhub discord for support and I got a lot of helpful information which lead me to...

Truffle Support

I reached out to truffle support and guided them through the issue that I was having. Side note truffle support is awesome. They took a look at my code and directed me in solving the issue.

truffle_develop.PNG

The issue is that I was using ganache-cli and that required that I use port 8545. Bug solved!

Solving bugs you really have to be patient with yourself and realize that it is only getting you better at googling, communicating, and understanding how to debug better.